As spring break comes and goes this year, remember that Washington State Patrol and other police agencies in Pierce County, WA are patrolling for possible DUIs or people driving under the influence. Getting pulled over is stressful by itself. Getting arrested for a DUI is even more frustrating and a horrific experience. Call Kintanar Valdez Law at (253) 298-7133 for a free consultation if this has occurred to you.
In Washington State, you can be pulled over for just the smallest traffic infraction, like failing to signal, and you could possibly face DUI charges. A person is guilty of a DUI if you have a breath alcohol/blood content (BAC) of .08 or more, if you smoked marijuana and your blood results show 5ng of THC or more, or if your driving was affected or impaired by the use of drugs or alcohol. Drugs? People get really confused about that – “I was prescribed this medication by the doctor…” Under Washington State law, it is still possible to get charged with a DUI even if you were prescribed certain medication if it impaired or affected your ability to drive. Minors can also get charged with a DUI. Look out for a post about that in the next week.
Arrested for a DUI in Pierce County, Washington
The first thing to remember is to remain calm. The police are watching and noting your every move, every mannerism, and everything you say – even if you’re just talking about the game earlier today that you watched at So & So Bar down the street.
Ask to speak to lawyer immediately. For example, police officers are so good about making you feel comfortable to open up and tell them your entire life story. Police officers may also ask you to submit to field sobriety tests and a portable breath test. It’s very important, before answering any questions, to immediately ask to speak to an attorney to consult with about what you should do. What you say or do is being noted and written down and can be used against you. So remain silent and ask for an attorney immediately.
DUIs in Washington State are gross misdemeanors. The maximum sentence is 364 days in jail and a $5000 fine. There are also mandatory penalties that the court must impose. These mandatory penalties will depend upon your history and the facts of your case. They can include anything from mandatory jail time, minimum fines, ignition interlock, and license consequences.
License Consequences for a DUI in Pierce County, Washington
When you’re arrested for a DUI, you are facing having your license suspended automatically for at least 90 days or more, depending on your criminal and driving record. But it doesn’t stop there. A driver’s license suspension will result in DOL requiring you to carry SR-22 insurance. You should immediately contact an attorney to help you navigate this process as you only have a limited time to fight the automatic suspension.
Pierce County DUI Defense Attorney Who Can Help
As you can see, a DUI arrest has so many complexities that cannot be explained in one blog post and this post should only be used as a starting point to help you find an attorney who can help you.
At Kintanar Valdez Law, you will receive affordable and aggressive help from an attorney who is experienced fighting DUIs in Pierce County, WA and other counties such as Thurston, King, and Snohomish County.
Kintanar Valdez Law will thoroughly evaluate your the prosecutor’s case against you and help you start building a defense. From the very first meeting, you can trust that you will not feel lost about your case, you will know exactly what the police report alleges, and you will have someone fighting for you from the very first hearing.
We are available for a free consultation 24/7. Please call Kintanar Valdez Law at (253) 298-7133 to speak with a lawyer now.